Delicious Cakes at Midtown Cakes!

Columbus, Georgia: Mr. James “Monk” Johnson was one of five men inducted into the Chatttahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame this year. The other four men are Mr. Tommy “Mac” Chambers, Mr. Mason Lampton, Mr. Dell McGee and Mr. Dusty Perdue.

Mr. James “Monk” Johnson was very popular at the event. He had at least five tables of family, friends and supporters at the breakfast buffet event. As a Spencer High School graduate, he was the recipient of the Golden Helmet Award from Coca Cola for being the Most Outstanding Football Player at William Henry Spencer High School, Columbus, GA for the 1968 football season..Spencer High School was the High School Football Champions in 1968. Then Mr. Johnson went to Tennessee State University in Nashville, Tennessee, where he was named All-American Defensive Back at Tennessee State University (TSU) I 1974. In 1975, Mr. Johnson was drafted by the San Francisco 49er’s as a defensive back in the 9th round. Next, Mr. Johnson  spent 38 years in a wholesale baking firm where he never failed a Quality  Baking Association rating-either superior or excellent rating. He effectively led a humanitarian effort to raise over $17,000 to air lift a former classmate who was paralyzed in an accident to California to be with his family, Mr. Johnson was instrumental in helping youth to achieve goals in sports as well as Black-owned businesses to survive the Covid crisis.  In 2021, his high school alma mater, William H.  Spencer High School in Columbus, GA, named their outdoor sports complex the James “Monk” Johnson GreenWave Sports Complex.In his remarks, after his Induction, Mr. Johnson expressed thank you remarks over and over again to his family, friends, class mates, team mates for their support. His mother, he added, did not want hm to play football, but his father said: “Let the boy play.”

The program opened with the Welcome by Jay Sparks, Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame. Award Presentations were next with G.R.I.T. (Growth-Resiience-Initiative-Teamwork) with Debbie Ball-Hall of Fame 2005, officiating. Then the Hall of Fame Inductions took place with Scott Miller-Hall of Fame 2018, officiating.

The Class of 2024 members are Tommy “Mac” Chambers, James “Monk” Johnson, Mason Lampton, Dell McGee and Dusty Perdue.  Mr. Jay Sparks ended the program with Closing Remarks.

In addition to the Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame Inductees, the 2024 G.R.I.T. Recipients were announced. The recipients and their schools are: Elizabeth Crowley, Brookstone; Ian McGarry, Brookstone; Anna Norton, Calvary; Luke Zevac, Calvary; Braylon Jakes, Carver; Haley Wilson, Central; Eric Wilson/Jr., Central; Jessika Carter, Chatt Co; Jikwon Floyd, Chatt Co; Layla Albright, Columbus; Tyranny McGowan, Columbus; Whittlee Harden, Glenwood; Thet Morris, Glenwood; Akira Davis, Hardaway; RJ Walker, Hardaway; Jacob Eber, Harris Co; Ty’Reonia Thomas, Jordan; Cameron Howard, Jordan; Dejanae Peterson, Kendrick; Omari Barron, Kendrick; Marlie Williams, Northside; Alex  Schwarz, Northside; Theron G. Spatz, Rainey McCullars; John (Harrison) Hendrix, Rainey McCullars; Aryiana Reid, Russell Co; Julian Anthony, Russell Co; Kendall Isaacs, St. Anne-Pacelli; Travis “Deuce” Moore, St. Anne-Pacelli; Gracie Lingenfelter, Shaw; Jeffrey (Trey) Gilbert, Shaw; Naomi Berk, Spencer; and Keyshaun Sampton, Spencer.

The Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame Board members are: Debbie Ball*, Leo Berard, Pam Carter*, Mark Clark, Jimbo Davis*, Charles Flowers*, Kathy Gierer, Guerry Glegg, Blair Harrison, Chuck Hecht, James Patrick*, Dave Platta*, Mark Rice, Richard Saunders, Merri Sherman (Ex Officio), Jay Sparks*, Dorenda Weaver*, and Chuck Wlliams (* Inductee of the Chattahoocheee Valley Sports Hall of Fame).

Media representatives were at the event including television and The Columbus Times Newspaper

When the guests left, they took home a program, a poster of the event and some delicious Golden Donuts.  They were also able to see the display of the Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame in the halls of the Columbus Convention and Trade Center.

Chattahoochee Valley Sports